35 Journal Square

  • Opportunity Zoned Building

35 Journal Square

Explore 35 Journal Square, an impeccably renovated 12-story office building spanning over 200,000 square feet.

With $5,000,000 recent interior transformation, the workspace is thoughtfully designed to be vibrant offices with energizing light, creating motivating and inspiring work atmospheres.

Streamlining the leasing process, our in-house office ensures a swift and seamless experience. Our seasoned team expedites negotiations, facilitating an effortless transition to your new office space

Nestled in a rapidly expanding neighborhood, this strategic location is surrounded by over 20,000,000 square feet of recent developments, including residential areas, a new fine arts center, the Frank J. Guarini Justice Complex, and various public amenities. We’re proudly situated in an Opportunity Zone, unlocking exclusive government incentives for businesses ready to thrive.

Modern amenities, a prime location, and offices that radiate positivity—35 Journal Square is more than a space; it’s the dynamic home your business deserves, setting the stage for unparalleled success.

  • Opportunity Zoned Building
  • $5M+ in renovations
  • Near 5 major courthouses
  • 13 minutes to Hoboken via PATH
  • 11 minutes to Newark via PATH
  • 20 minutes to Midtown Manhattan via PATH
  • 11 minutes to WTC via PATH
  • Easy access to Midtown Manhattan, Hoboken, Newark and all of NJ

a harmonious blend of professionalism.

Modern amenities

Full-time Doorman

Freight Elevator


ADA Compliant


Sunlit Office

24/7 Access to Building

Heating & Cooling Control


Conference Rooms


Shared Office Spaces

Separate Bathrooms

Lounge Area


CCTV Security


On Site Management

Stay Updated with 35 Journal Square News!

Latest news


The History of Journal Square

35 Journal Square, originally known as ‘The Bank Building’, designed by Col. J. Hollis Wells of Clinton & Russell Architects in New York City, was dedicated in 1927. The eleven-story, graceful Italian Renaissance-style office building represented the goal of prosperity for the Journal Square business district. When completed, the steel-framed and fire-proof structure was the highest building in Jersey City. Constructed by the Hegeman-Harris Company between 1898 and 1921, the exterior facade of limestone and brick was the work of the Benedict Stone Company. With additions, the building is currently at 201,000 square feet.

It is at 35 Journal Square that a new corporate headquarters for the bank was constructed. 35 JSQ was the heart of the commercial development of Journal Square in the 1920s. At the time, with the Trust Company of New Jersey location at 35 JSQ, promised investors easy access to commercial enterprises from New York City and nearby towns, all within reach from the trolley, bus, and jitney lines, the Hudson and Manhattan Railroad Tube trains, and a branch of the Pennsylvania Railroad.

In 1922, Architecture and Building magazine described the bank’s interior design with its Doric columns, bronze teller cages, chandeliers, and mahogany decor: “The banking room, with an area of 5,000 square feet, has a height of 18 feet and its floor is a half story above the street. From the entrance vestibule, a broad flight of stairs leads to the banking room floor, where the central area and one side are occupied by the banking enclosures, and the other avenue frontage by railed-off office space for the bank officials. Marble [A.R. Zicha Marble Company] is used for floors and counter bases and the screens are bronze framed. From the paneled ceiling, numerous ornamental pendant fixtures of the semi-direct type add to the decorative effect and give a diffused illumination. The trust department, safe deposit, and vaults [Remington and Sherman Company] are in the basement which, being a half story above street level, has the advantage of more natural illumination than is the case where similar equipment is so located.”

In 1969, Siggi B. Wilzig, a Holocaust survivor, became a director of the bank.

The building was renovated in 1992 with an upgrading of the elevators, heating, and air conditioning systems. Green awnings and new brass doors at the corner entrance were installed. The first floor-retail stores face Bergen Avenue, and the upper floors of the building have rental offices.

In 2001, the bank was named the Trust Company Bank. For many years, the bold red letters spelling out the name of THE TRUST COMPANY OF NEW JERSEY identified the location of the bank’s flagship building at 35 Journal Square. The neon sign mounted on scaffolding atop the eleven-story structure, at the time the highest lighting of the sky in Hudson County, could be seen from two different directions far into the distance. The bank’s “heart” logo was added later, representing its slogan “The Bank with Heart since 1896.”

In May 2004, the Trust Company were acquired by North Fork Bancorp, the gold compass-star logo of North Fork bank replaced the red signage of the Trust Company due to the merging of the two institutions. The North Fork sign was short-lived, as the bank was acquired by Capital One, whose logo features white lettering and a red “swoosh” until today.